I Cook Too

I don’t enjoy cooking. I just don’t. I have trialed and failed. It’s impossible for me to spend so much time in the kitchen. I wish my mom was here to cook for me every day. But I know that’s not going to happen. Least bit, I realized this undue love for cooking is not genetic after all.
Invariably, Murali & I end up eating outside. Problem being, I don’t love gaining weight as much as I love eating outside. So, unwillingly, I’ve made up my mind to cook at home more often. I changed the look of my kitchen a little bit for my own good! You know like getting fancy utensils, colourful coffee mugs, pots that sit on the table and more veggies and fruits in my refrigerator – Hoping it would ramp up my interest in cooking a little bit.
But, the enthusiasm was short lived. I cooked some good food for a while soon after which I was back in my ‘I don’t want to enter the kitchen’ phase again.
BUT, I haven’t given up just yet.
If you ask me what I would do without yammering, you’d have to picture me looking crazy with messy hair & a Camera dangling around my neck and a manhandled subject. Yes, I can do it all day, every day.
So, I decided I’ll take pictures of what I cook to entertain myself (did I say entertain?!). I realized what I’d like to capture is the way they looked before turning into what I intend them to be (Let’s call it heavenly delight for now) with my NOT so elaborate description of how to make them. The pictures don’t always indicate all the ingredients that goes in it but enough to demo all the significant ones.
Here’s a first.
Take some oil in a heavy bottom pan on medium heat, add some Cumin Seeds & allow them to pop, add a pinch of Asafoetida (Hing), a couple of chopped Green Chilies, in goes the chopped Onions and Okra. Cover with a lid and let it cook on low heat for 10-12 minutes. By now, the Okras would have lost the gummy texture (trust me you wanna get rid of that!), add some boiled & diced potatoes. The ratio of Okras: Potatoes should be 3:1. Season with Salt, Garam Masala, Coriander Powder & Red Chilli Powder. The kicker is adding a spoon of Gram Flour. It soaks up the extra oil and blends the spices. After a few tosses, it’s ready to serve.
 One of my favorites.

 

Your Thoughts?

