Happy ‘Father’s Day’ Week – Day 6

I want to share a few pictures from my parent’s wedding day and brag about my mother’s gorgeousness in that beautiful maroon saree (their wedding pictures are black and white and I don’t know why I think she wore maroon, but lets just trust my intuition for now. OK?) Pictures of my father with glasses on, apparently he bought a pair just to look “stylish” on their wedding day. And, I want to share pictures of my sister’s childhood, of the first couple of years of her life, the one that I never got to be a part of.
Growing up, I was never fully able to grasp that my sister was also just a little girl like me. To me, she was always just a little less grown up than my parents. That’s all. A third parent if I may. I needed her to console me when I cried, carry me I was tired of walking and feed me when I was hungry. Although I didn’t cry a lot, I was very heavy and I ate a lot. But, considering the gentle soul that she was, she did all of it without resenting.
My sister is and always will be my father’s favorite daughter. His love for her is unreal. He has always asked me to apologize first every time my sister and I fight. It really doesn’t matter to him whose mistake it is, but I have to apologize first. To him, she could not have possibly done anything wrong.
My mother used to say that it was my father’s idea to have a second child and she personally wasn’t a big fan of the whole thing. (Ha. Thank you mother, you are the sweetest for letting me know that you weren’t interested to have me) and I think that my father wanted to have another child just so my sister has someone to play with at all times. He now laughs and gives me a hug when I make a sarcastic joke about it, but, both of us know that there is some truth to it after all. Alas, my sister was a very very lovable kind of kid (who I hate btw), so I don’t blame him.
Over the last couple of years, their relationship has been stretched and strained because of a few unpleasant incidents in our family and it breaks my heart to see them not be themselves with each other. So, here’s raising a coffee toast in the name of my sister and my father and asking someone up there to make it all normal again. Heck, I should try making it sound like a prayer, maybe it’ll work then? I’ll never know.
So, I think all that I wanted to say was that I don’t have any of those pictures with me right now. I wish I did though. But, this trickle down the memory lane made me feel as though I was flipping an old album. Also, I am hungry right now, I should try having lunch at lunch time. Kiwis and tomatoes for lunch today. (yuck) I am not happy about my lunch at all since all that I can think of is a thin crust goat cheese pizza with roasted mushrooms on top. So, I am pretending to like eating healthy stuff until I actually do or something weird like that which is supposed to work. And we just took a few steps back thinking about pizza now. Crap.
PS: I think I fused our past present and future big time in a it’s-not-funny kinda way, but no one will ever complain. So, we are good?
Your Thoughts?

