So close yet so far

I already smell it you know, the home made filter coffee and Avrekal Uppittu. I have this mental image of what my father’s expression’s going to be like when he opens the door to his Amrika daughter, rather naively. I don’t think I have it in me to hold my tears when I see him, but I shall try. The plan is to jump up and down, scream surprise!!

And boy, it has been a real pain to hold it all in especially with Murali ratting me out to friends for the sake of money and free food, yea he is pretty affordable that way. But he is in on it too. Sort of. My in-laws don’t know that we are coming either. No clue whatsoever. God, I’m brilliant and idiotic for wanting to do this!

We’ve packed our entire closets for a measly two week stay, but you never know right? The ‘RS’ chalked all over my suitcase makes me smile now. Courtesy- Murali of course. It’s a funny story and I shall save it for another time. Around the same time last year though, I swore off I’d never speak to him again as I watched my luggage come down the conveyor belt at the airport and now? now, I just laugh at my over protective, over caring, over everything husband. I have no idea what I would do without him.

And oh, I have Disney toys, a blue tutu, a pink onesie and a white frilled one foot frock in my bag too. No, I didn’t have a baby or anything, it just means I have a lot to catch up on. One of my best friends had a baby this year and I’ve missed the whole deal. And I also missed one of my bumchum’s engagement as well. So I have to meet her fiance, ask him annoying questions, threaten him a little and test his tolerance for loud laughter. And beer too, (I have a feeling I’m going to beat him to it). It’s my responsibility after all.

Sigh, I am dying to meet my family, my friends, my town you name it, waiting to be pampered and spoiled. I want to pack my whole family up in my chalky ‘RS’ suitcase (ha, touche!) and bring them back here.

It’s Christmas eve everybody! In a couple of hours, I will be 30,000 feet up in the air looking over the snow covered mountains attentively. I’ve been told a big white bearded man may be sleighing across the shimmering town tonight. Ho ho ho!

5 thoughts on “So close yet so far

  1. RAMAN

    I hope your 2 week stay will be beautiful.. However, Don’t stop blogging during this time as your 2 posts per week is now a hobby of readers.

    Reply

Your Thoughts?

