She is here 

 
I may not remember today’s date or if I took a shower this morning, can’t tell if it’s day or night, just feels like a stretch of time. A long stretch. Sleep deprived- I shut my eyes and sang for her, my sore arms rocked her back and forth. Then, at the crack of dawn, with a nip of winter chill, I caught a glimpse of my baby smiling in her sleep. 

Holy.effing.moses!

Her smile has stirred a kind of fierce love inside of me that I didn’t know I even had.
19 days in, and oh so overwhelmed. And! Crazy postpartum hormones, go away!! 

4 thoughts on “She is here 

  1. Deepa

    Congratulations to you and Murali! Welcome to parenthood, it is an amazing ride, believe me on that :). I am a mom to 2 kids, totally get it when you say you experienced fierce love. I had the same experience, so much so that, I refused to give my babies to anyone to hold the first few hours after their birth.

    Reply

Your Thoughts?

