Morning shenanigans

I lay you down on your tummy, you whimper for a second. I am desperate for a cup of coffee so I start to walk towards the kitchen, away from you. You look up at me with those beautiful brown eyes and whimper again. I stop, turn around, make a funny face to get you to smile. You barely smile. But for some reason though, I cannot take my eyes off your sweet face so I continue making faces at you. Your eyes light up then loud giggles follow- probably hoping for me to forget all else and come pick you up? Typically, morning coffee is non-negotiable but today, I say screw it and lie down next to you. Thrilled, you hold my face with your tiny paws, blow raspberries and shriek excitedly. More giggles.And then some more.

I had been away from you for less than a minute, that is all. One.minute. 

I don’t know about spoiling you, but you’ve spoiled me rotten with your love! What’s going to happen to me when I am not your favorite person anymore? 

7 thoughts on “Morning shenanigans

  1. Murali Krishna H K

    Brilliant post.

    Thanks, Murali

    On Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 12:32 AM Thats What She Said wrote:

    > Ranjini posted: “I lay you down on your tummy, you whimper for a second. I > am desperate for a cup of coffee so I start to walk towards the kitchen, > away from you. You look up at me with those beautiful brown eyes and > whimper again. I stop, turn around, make a funny face t” >

    Reply
  2. Ranjini Post author

    Thank you! I can’t believe you actually read it. On Fri, Apr 8, 2016 at 8:57 PM Murali Krishna H K wrote:

    > Brilliant post. > > Thanks, > Murali > > On Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 12:32 AM Thats What She Said comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote: > >> Ranjini posted: “I lay you down on your tummy, you whimper for a second. >> I am desperate for a cup of coffee so I start to walk towards the kitchen, >> away from you. You look up at me with those beautiful brown eyes and >> whimper again. I stop, turn around, make a funny face t” >> >

    Reply
  3. charmingthird

    Totally with you on this- I have an almost 7 month old daughter and I cannot imagine how it’s going to be when I am not her favorite person either!
    So beautifully written! And such a lovely name -Mihira! Love it!

    Reply

Your Thoughts?

