That toothless grin 

Mihi is teething, a little white bud has popped that looks red-ish today. She won’t let me get a good look at it but I’m positive that a mean tooth is on it’s way hurting my poor baby. She won’t let me put her down, she won’t nurse, she won’t play and she won’t (wait for it…) sleep! She is clearly in pain and I’m clearly exhausted. 

I’m also really sad because i’ll miss watching that toothless grin more than anything else. And teeth will make my little baby … err… look grown up :-( I’m not ready for that transformation just yet. Her gummy smiles are healing and therapeutic, they put a bandaid on my problems, lifting my spirits up almost instantly. And I will miss it so so much. I’m sure the one with teeth will be just as precious, but this marks the end of an era for me. 

My baby girl is 8 months old already and I know that time has flown by quick, but somehow the pop of a tiny tooth bud has hit me with the force of a thousand bricks. Wait. We just brought her home from the hospital. A tiny little baby who slept without a peep in the crevice of my arms oblivious to the world around her- nursing and napping on repeat. Today, she is babbling words, sitting, crawling, clapping and waving, hugging and kissing. She has a favorite food, a favorite book and a favorite song. She already has a fierce personality and a heart of gold. My Mihira is pure magic, you guys!

Her toothless gummy smile will be sorely missed! *sniff-sniff* 

8 thoughts on “That toothless grin 

  1. *Rae

    I know all about the toothless baby grin! It kinda freaked me out at first but after the first teeth started coming in, it was really cute.

    Reply

Your Thoughts?

